Whitworth University

Peace studies at Whitworth University are offered as a major through the political science department. All courses in the department “are informed by a commitment to justice and reconciliation as articulated by the great political thinkers throughout history and, especially, as defined by the principles of the Christian faith” (Whitworth is affiliated with the Presbyterian Church).

The peace studies major includes a core group of political science classes, an ethics or theology course, a group of electives in sociology, history, economics and other related disciplines, and an internship. Students are also strongly encouraged to study abroad during their time at Whitworth; the college offers programs in Northern Ireland and Tanzania that have particular relevance to peace studies and other political science academic programs.

The political science department also offers a minor in community engagement and transformation, which includes study of urban life, community development, and issues of poverty and inequality.

Program chair:
Kathryn Lee